LeadingMajandra Delfino

Alma Awards Airs In June (Majandra Presenting)


Christina Aguilera, Antonio Banderas, Beck, Jose Feliciano,
Melanie Griffith, Kirk Franklin 1NC, Jennifer Lopez, Matthew
McConaughey, LFO, Los Lobos, Reba McEntire, Ozomatli, Denise
Richards, Paul Rodriguez and Jimmy Smits Are Among

The biggest names in music, film and television celebrate the
contributions of Latinos in the arts, in “The 2000 ALMA Awards,”
SATURDAY, JUNE 17 (9:00-11:00 p.m., ET), on the ABC Television

The National Council of La Raza (NCLR) is the largest
constituency-based Hispanic organization in the United States. The
organization’s ALMA (American Latino Media Arts) Awards honor the
positive portrayal of Latino images in American film, television
and music.

Ricky Martin and Jennifer Lopez will be honored as male and
female entertainer of the year, and Christina Aguilera as new
entertainer of the year. Antonio Banderas will be honored both as
outstanding actor in a feature film (“The 13th Warrior”) and as
outstanding director (“Crazy in Alabama”). Among those honored
from the world of television will be Ian Gomez (“Norm,”
“Felicity,” “The Drew Carey Show”), who will receive special
recognition for appearing on three network shows simultaneously,
and ground-breaking talk show host Cristina Saralegui, with the
prestigious NCLR/Kraft Alma Community Service Award.

Performances will include:

Grammy Award-winning pop superstar Christina Aguilera singing
her hit, “I Turn to You”;

Award-winning gospel singer/R&B star Kirk Franklin 1NC,
performing “Nobody”;

Rising Rock En Espanol band Ozomatli teaming up with rocker Beck
to perform “Bra”;

The legendary Jose Feliciano singing his hit, “Light My Fire.”
Feliciano will also receive the ALMA Ricardo Montalban Lifetime
Achievement Award, presented by Melanie Griffith;

Jon Secada and Reba McEntire dueting on “We’re All Alone”;

An electrifying dance medley from choreographer Tina Landon, who
is honored for her work with such luminaries as Janet Jackson and
Michael Jackson, Christina Aguilera, Ricky Martin and Jennifer
Lopez. Songs include “Scream,” “If,” “What a Girl Wants,”
“Shake Your Bon-Bon,” “Livin’ La Vida Loca” and “If You Had My

LFO and Son By Four teaming up to sing a medley of their hits,
“West Side Story,” “A Puro Dolor” and “Summer Girls”;

Rock veterans Los Lobos performing “Cumbia Raza”;

Comedy by popular stand-up and television star Paul Rodriguez.

Celebrity presenters are (in alphabetical order): Paulo Benedeti
(“Wild Things”), Bruno Campos (“Jesse”), Maria Canals
(“Beggars and Choosers”), Bobby Cannavale (“Third Watch”),
Nestor Carbonell (“Suddenly Susan”), Matt Cedeno (“The Price of
Glory”), Laura Ceron (“ER”), Eddie Cibrian (“Third Watch”),
Cristian de la Fuente (“Family Law”), Majandra Delfino
(“Roswell”), Giselle Fernandez (“Access Hollywood”), Daisy
Fuentes (“America’s Funniest Home Videos”), Ian Gomez, Melanie
Griffith, Sophia Adella Hernandez (“Knockout”), Jennifer Lopez,
Constance Marie (“Union Square”), Matthew McConaughey, Alex
Meneses (“The Flintstones in Viva Rock Vegas”), Esai Morales,
Jacqueline Obradors (“Battery Park”), Edward James Olmos, Lupe
Ontiveros, Francesco Quinn (“The Young and the Restless”), Denise
Richards, Robi Rosa, Saundra Santiago (“Guiding Light”), Jon
Secada, Jon Seda, Diego Serrano, Jimmy Smits, Liz Torres, Wilmer
Valderrama (“That ’70s Show”), Lauren Velez (“Oz”) and
“Titanic” director James Cameron.

Ken Ehrlich and Raul Yzaguirre, president of the NCLR, are
executive producers of “The 2000 ALMA Awards,” which was taped at
the Pasadena Civic Center on April 16. Leroy V. Martinez was
producer and Ron de Moraes directed. (CLOSED-CAPTIONED) (Broadcast
in stereo where available)

A TV parental guideline will be assigned closer to airdate.